

To All Media Houses

10 July 2024

Bloemfontein - Today was an iconic day for the Free State Legislature as chairpersons of different Portfolio Committees were elected. There was great anticipation on these new appointments to drive oversight for the new administration. Five Committee Chairpersons were elected to mark a reduction from Six (6) in the 6th Legislature. We now have more mandates arranged into larger clusters.

The Constitution of South Africa, 1996, and the Rules and Orders of the Free State Legislature makes provision for the Legislature to establish mechanism to enable it to perform its functions. All established Committees take into account the proportionality of representation of political parties in the Legislature.

Below are portfolio Committee Chairpersons elected this morning:

• Public Accounts Committee:(Hon. M.D Khoabane)

In order to enhance accountability, Public Accounts is a watchdog of tax payers money. It plays a critical role in overseeing the performance of government department, municipalities and entities to ensure economic use of government funds. The Public Accounts can summon anyone to appear before it to present on financial and non-financial relating to their institutions.

• Public works, infrastructure, roads, transport and human settlement Committee: (Hon. D.E Van Vuuren)

Another critical Committee which is responsible for oversight over the Member of the Executive Council for Department of Public Works and Infrastructure. The MEC is a policy leader responsible to manage immovable properties and the accommodation needs for government and other infrastructure deliverables. The Committee will must consider that best practices are followed in the course of infrastructure delivery in the province.

• Agriculture, rural economic development, small business, sports, arts and culture Committee: (Hon. Z.L Sigwebela) Establishment of this Committee takes into consideration the configuration of

Establishment of this Committee takes into consideration the configuration of government departments and is one of the most dynamic committee.

• Education, Health and Social Services Committee: (Hon. M.I Liphoko)

This cluster provides agreat opportunity for Legislature to assess the social transformation strides we are making as province. The Committee will play oversight over three departments considering the success in education, the challenges in health and social development.



• Cooperative Governance, Committee: (Hon. A.B Cloete)

The Committee focuses on interventions by the Department and the strides made by municipality in their efforts to accelerate service delivery.

Household Committees are composed as follows:

Ethics Member Interest: (Hon. T.P Meeko) Budget and Oversight: (Hon. N.J Garekoe) Petitions: (Hon. M.J Mokoena) Committee on Multi-Party Whips (Hon. M.D Khoabane) Committee on Government Assurances (Hon. N.L Ndungane)

For further Enquiries Contact:

Mr. Life Mokone Spokesperson and Head of Communication Free State Legislature Tel: (051) 407 1100 Cell: 076 231 6810 e-mail: <u>lifem@fsl.gov.za</u>